Halloween is just around the corner!

 

 

 

I started my little home business just one year ago in three days. At that point, I didn’t even look at it as anything more than I crochet, and if you want something, I’ll make it for you for a little cash. It’s crazy how fast things sparked and created something much bigger. And believe me, I appreciate every single one of you. 

Since I last updated this blog, (I am terrible with keeping up to date with these things), I am now unemployed. I quit my job at The Home Depot… but we won’t get into that. “Every new beginning comes from some other beginnings end…” 🙂

I’ve been taking care of a seven and nine year old every day, getting them off the bus, and on occasion, on the bus, like this morning… hence the reason I am up so early updating this. (Although it’s not really that early). Believe me, this life is so much better (and easier) than the life I was creating by working at the ol’ depot. That sucked. Anyway… anyway… ANYWAY…

With all the extra time on my hands I’ve come up and made many, many wonderful things! I’ve been helping Simply Collectible test a few patterns here and there, and they’ve been awesome! Really cute and funny stuff coming up shortly. 🙂

I’ve finally got myself to even crochet some mittens… and scarves… can you believe it? I’ve been crocheting for 11 years and I finally made mittens?! 

Okay, so here’s what this entire blog post is all about:

Halloween is just around the corner. We’ve got a little less than 2 months now…. maybe a month and a half… I don’t pay much attention to time anymore… 

Last year these were a great seller. I’m hoping they’ll be a hit this year as well.

ImageI have these Pumpkin Hats listed in my Etsy shop for $16.00, sizes newborn-child. They are crocheted with a very soft but durable acrylic yarn in colors “pumpkin” and “chocolate” by Loops and Threads Impeccable, one of my favorite acrylic yarns. It’s a very simple hat, but the subtle ribbing creates the pumpkin look, as well as the decreasing stitches in brown up to the very tippity-top of the hat, creating the stem. This hat, oddly, means a lot to me. I posted this hat on my Facebook page one night in September and surprisingly got a few orders for them right then and there! I hadn’t even listed that it was for sale! This little hat started it all. 🙂

 

Here is another one of my favorite little hats… 

Image

This hat was originally a custom order for a little girl I babysit from time to time. I was asked if I could do a little puppy hat and sure enough, I found the perfect pattern from Simply2Irresistible. Not only was I in love with the finished product, but Hailey and her mom were thrilled, too. I listed the Patchy Puppy Hat in my Etsy shop as well for $18.00 sizes newborn-child. It is crocheted with an extremely soft acrylic yarn that I think has a sort of shine to it. From what I can tell, the hat always has that “just finished” look to it. It’s funny, I have this weird thing against Red Heart yarns for some weird reason (I don’t really have a reason to hate it, I just always seem to find something I think is “better”). Until I found this yarn, I completely changed my mind. I use Red Heart Soft for these adorable puppy hats, and it has also become a favorite yarn to use while crocheting. (The list of favorites goes on and on and on and on…)

Anyway, I received my very first Halloween order on Etsy over the weekend. It was an order for one of these hats. The lady who ordered it wrote me a little note at check-out, saying that her 3 year old daughter was dressing up as their white lab for Halloween, and that this hat would be perfect for the costume.

How cute is that? 

 

Last but not least, this hat was designed by Simply Collectible

ImageThis was one of the few finished products from a pattern I tested. This is probably the funniest/cutest thing I’ve ever seen. Total genius idea, no? Anyway, this Girly Wig Hat is also listed in my Etsy shop for $20.00 from sizes newborn-child.It is crocheted with, yet again, a very soft acrylic yarn. Perfect for Halloween, baldy babies, or just plain ol’ silly kids! I’m really hoping these will be a hit at the upcoming craft fairs I will be vending at! 

 

Oh, about those craft fairs! My first one of the season is September 15th.. just about a week and a half away! I will be vending with Maraknit, my best friend who knits a variety of baby items. This “fair” is actually an annual BBQ that the church up the hill in Plymouth, Ct, hosts… but this year they are doing it a little differently by adding local vendors. Hoping we do well!

Next month we will also be vending in Riverton, Ct across the street from the Riverton Fair.  This is the first annual “flea market and vendor fair” hosted by the American Legion. The flyer I was given attached to the application says the fair across the street brings in over 20,000 people to Riverton every year! That’s a HUGE amount of people for a tiny little town that no one knows about! 

Anyway, that’s all for now. Time to go work on some more orders! 

Tis the season 😉

 

 

 

 

8 responses

  1. Great designs! Cool pumpkin hat. Crocheting has sure come along way since the days my mom would crochet baby blanket, after baby blanket, after baby blanket. Have fun and the craft fair and good luck growing your small business. Most importantly, wishing you all the best as you craft a lifestyle that works for you.

  2. Christina – You have shown the greatest courage by following your passion. Life can be beautiful, but it also can be harsh – and it’s is rarely fair. In my 50 laps around the sun, I learned that life is built upon the choices we make. Therefore, try to make the best one’s you can, based on values and who you are at that decision point.

    If someone is unwilling to change course, than they really are nothing more than a cog in the machine. I know people who have stayed in careers or relationships they hate their entire lives. Better to pursue something you love doing and even fail, than do something your are miserable everyday but are viewed a success. Keep crocheting, keep moving forward as long as that’s what you love doing!

    • I’m definitely willing to take the good with the bad. There has been many orders that have been placed and then never get picked up or paid for. It sucks, but it’s life and it’s all about finding out what you’re doing and how to do it right, I suppose. It’s hard work, that’s for sure. But I am willing to take the chance at failing, but at least I am having a good time along the way… and better yet, so far I’ve shown very minimal failure… almost everything I’ve done geared toward Crabapple Crochet has been a success!

  3. Sounds like you are well on your way! As I always reminding my daughters (and now they remind me), the only thing you can truly control is yourself. No doubt, when people don’t fulfill their agreements it does suck and it can be a real financial hardship, but ultimately you’ve done all you can do and their inaction is completely out of your control. You’re planting “Crabablle Crochet seeds” with every design you create and every blog post you publish…these are the activities that are in your control and will help ensure that your small business bares the type of fruit you’re seeking. And most importanly, as you stated you are “having a good time along the way” and that is success in itself.

    • Haha, it’s all good! I knew what you meant 🙂 I should probably proof-read as well, I almost never think of it until later down the road… I’ll look back at posts and be like “oops, well now I look like an idiot”

Leave a comment